New Senate Majority Leader Chuck Schumer welcomed the six new Democratic senators Thursday who gave him the very slight edge to secure the majority. Three of the new senators were sworn into office Wednesday after President Joe Biden's inauguration: Jon Ossoff and Raphael Warnock, who won their special elections in Georgia earlier this month, and Alex Padilla who was tapped by California’s governor to finish the remainder of now Vice President Kamala Harris’ Senate term.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.